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Georgia Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities (GMWD) offers people with disabilities, who 
are working, the opportunity to buy health care coverage through the Georgia Medicaid 
Program. This Program became effective March 2008. 
 

 
 

The “Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act of 1999” (TWWIIA) enacted on 
December 17, 1999 provided states with new options for making it possible for people with 
disabilities to join, or remain in, the workplace without fear of losing their Medicare and 
Medicaid coverage. Georgia elected to provide Medicaid coverage in the “Basic Coverage 
Group” of TWWIIA. Under this group, Medicaid can cover individuals at least 16, but less 
than 65 years of age, who except for earned income would be eligible to receive SSI. 
 
This program provides Medicaid coverage to workers with disabilities who are employed but 
are no longer eligible for SSI due to increased earnings. There is no requirement other than 
an individual must have at one time been a recipient of SSI or SSA disability. However, if an 
individual was not a recipient of SSI or SSA disability, a disability determination must be 
completed. Other GMWD non-financial and financial eligibility criteria are based on similar 
ABD Medicaid Categories. 
 
Eligibility Requirements 
 
To qualify for GMWD, an individual must meet all of the following criteria: 

• Have a disability that meets Social Security Administration’s standards 

• Have disability income between $600.00-$699.00/month 

• Be employed and receiving compensation 

• Be a Georgia resident 

• Be at least 16 years of age, but less than the age of 65 

• Have countable income less than the Medicaid Cap (300 percent of the FPL) 

• Have countable resources less than $4000.00 for an individual, $6000.00 for couple 
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Premium Costs 
 
GMWD participants may be required to pay a monthly premium. Premium amount is based 
on the individual’s age and total countable income.  
 
Applying for GMWD 
 
 
Application may be submitted in the following ways: 

• Online at www.gateway.georgia.gov 

• Telephonically by calling 1-877-423-4746 

• Paper application by mail, fax, or in person at the local DFCS office. 
www.dfcs.dhs.georgia.gov 
 

Individuals approved for GMWD may be required to pay a monthly premium. GMWD 
premiums are paid to PSI, Inc., and are due one month prior to the month of coverage. The 
address for payment of a GMWD premium is P.O. Box 162348 Atlanta, Ga. 30348-2348. 
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